Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Lost Dogs - "Mutt"

Lost Dogs - Mutt
2004, Fools of the World

1. If You Want To
2. The Lust, The Flesh, & The Pride of Life
3. Like a Cloud
4. Grace is the Smell of Rain
5. Sunshine Down
6. To Cover You
7. It's So Sad
8. Ain't Gonna Fight It
9. Beautiful Scandalous Night
10. I'm Setting You Free (But I'm Not Letting You Go)

So I've been on a bit of a Lost Dogs kick if you couldn't tell. Mutt is basically a cover album. The Dogs cover songs from each other's bands. Does it work? Abso-friggin'-lutely. I really didn't go into this album expecting much but I came out with that much more appreciation for the songwriting talents of Terry, Derri, and Mike. I have to say that it really made me appreciate the 77's songs more because I've never been a huge fan for some reason. Naturally this makes me want to check out some more 77's. This is a quiet acoustic album not unlike Nazarene Crying Towel but I think I liked this one better simply because I was more familiar with the songs and enjoyed the arrangements. I can't say that they completely top the originals, but they are great versions that stand side by side with them. I'm starting to think that I'm going to have to take back every bad thing I said about the band's post-Gene work because I've ended up really liking it.

Useless Fact: The only new song on this album is the closer "I'm Setting You Free (But I'm Not Letting You Go)" which is about Steve Hindalong watching his daughter go to college. This naturally made me think about when my 9-week old Alexis inevitably goes off to college and turned me into a blubbery mess. So thanks for that, Steve.


  1. I think Steve Hindalong actually wrote that song, Setting You Free... great blog by the way!

  2. Hey, thanks for stopping by!

    Actually, after I wrote that I looked at the liner notes and saw Steve there and wondered if he didn't write those lyrics. Thanks for the info!