Monday, December 19, 2011

Various Artists - "Fleas Naughty Dog, Vol. 1"

Various Artists - Fleas Naughty Dog, Vol. 1
2010, Rottweiler

1. "O Holy Night" - Tim Bushong
2. "Silent Night" - Bridgeshadows
3. "Little Drummer Boy" - Blissed
4. "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen" - True Liberty
5. "Anti-Santa's Coming to Town" - Eistein Savage
6. "What Child is This?" - Coriolis
7. "Angels We Have Heard On High" - Marty Warren
8. "You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch" - Grave Robber
9. "Christmas For Real" - Harry Gore
10. "Jingle Bells" - Confessions of a Sinner
11. "O Come, O Come Emmanuel" - Leper
12. "Hark! The Herald Angels Sing" - False Idle
13. "All I Want For Christmas is My Two Front Teeth" - Fire Born
14. "Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silent" - Frost Like Ashes
15. "O Come All Ye Faithful" - Cryo-Mancer
16. "Holidays Suck" Desiring Dead Flesh

Fleas Naughty Dog, Vol 1 was a sampler put out by the fledgling Rottweiler Records last year. They were offering it for free, so of course I had to check it out given my love of both metal and Christmas music. The results are somewhat mixed but it's hard to complain about something that was free - so I'll just hit the highlights. Grave Robber's "You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch" is naturally stellar. Sometimes I think these guys can do no wrong. Einstein Savage, a rock-a-billy type band, lends an original song, "Anti-Santa is Coming to Town." It's catchy and quite amusing - one of my favorites on the comp. Marty Warren's thrash take on "Angels We Have Heard on High" impresses as well. Coriolis turn in a techno version of "What Child is This?" that has successfully creeped out my wife. Speaking of which, remember on the Deliverance tribute CD where I said Leper sounded like Devo? Well, they don't sound like that here. They've provided one of the most tortured, angsty versions of a Christmas song I have ever heard. I'm not sure I like it, per se - but it is different. Confessions of a Sinner's thrashy "Jingle Bells" is a lot of fun. While there were some low points for me, there's enough cool material to make it worth the download.

Useless Fact: As I understand it, Rottweiler Records is prepping Fleas Naughty Dog, Vol. 2 for release soon. It will have some new artists on it as well as the tracks from Vol. 1. Head over to their homepage and check it out!

1 comment:

  1. How do I download that there free album? I don't seem to find a link.