Friday, February 3, 2012

Megadeth - "Th1rt3en"

Megadeth - Th1rt3en
2011, Roadrunner

1. Sudden Death
2. Public Enemy No. 1
3. Whose Life (Is It Anyways?)
4. We the People
5. Guns, Drugs, & Money
6. Never Dead
7. New World Order
8. Fast Lane
9. Black Swan
10. Wrecker
11. Millennium of the Blind
12. Deadly Nightshade
13. Th1rt3en

Ever since Megadeth's 2004 reboot, Dave & co. have managed to produce consistently good albums. I'm happy to say that the trend continues with Th1rt3en. It's in the same general vein as the past few discs though I think this one is a bit more melodic and accessible than 2009's Endgame. It's more Youthanasia than Rust in Peace. Some of Megadeth's best tunes are found here too in the form of "Public Enemy No. 1" and "Whose Life (Is It Anyways?)." Longtime bassist and future seminary student, Dave Ellefson, returns to the fold for this album as well. While Th1rt3en is by no means an earth-shattering release, for fans like me it definitely hits the spot. I don't like the cover, however. It sort of looks like Vic Rattlehead is standing in front of a dingy bathroom stall.

Useless Fact: Several songs on this album aren't really "new" per se. "Sudden Death" was released on one of the Rock Band or Guitar Hero games, "New World Order" was on some other album back in the day, "Black Swan" was on a special edition of United Abominations, and "Millennium of the Blind" is an expansion of an extra track on the Youthanasia reissue. Also, there are some symbols in the liner notes that represent each of the band's albums.

No comments:

Post a Comment