Thursday, June 24, 2010

Various Artists - "Rock Power Praise Vol. 2, Christmas Hymns"

Various Artists - Rock Power Praise Vol. 2, Christmas Hymns
1991, Pakaderm

1. Joy to the World
2. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
3. What Child is This?
4. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
5. Little Drummer Boy
6. O Come All Ye Faithful
7. Silent Night
8. For Unto Us a Child is Born
9. O Holy Night
10. O Come, O Come Emmanuel

Hey, it's dang near the end of June! Why not update with a Christmas album? As the title implies this disc is the second in the Rock Power Praise series which took old church hymns and glammed 'em up a bit for us young whipper-snappers. This disc isn't quite as heavy as the We Wish You a Metal X-Mass... album but it's still a great holiday listen. Jamie Rowe (Guardian) and Robin Kyle (Die Happy, Red Sea) put in some stellar vocal performances on their respective songs. Sara Tennison provides some powerhouse female vocals but I'm not sure if she was from a band or not. Since this record was released on Pakaderm it's got that super clean Elephante sheen, production wise. I confess that I totally downloaded this one and probably will never buy a CD copy of it (I owned the tape for the longest time). Why? Because last time I checked Amazon it was $90!

Useless Fact: In all there were three Rock Power Praise discs. The last one featured gospel songs.

1 comment: