Monday, February 1, 2016

W.A.S.P. - "Golgotha"

W.A.S.P. - Golgotha
2015, Napalm

1. Scream
2. Last Runaway
3. Shotgun
4. Miss You
5. Fallen Under
6. Slaves of the New World Order
7. Eyes of My Maker
8. Hero of the World
9. Golgotha

I never was much of a W.A.S.P. fan back in the day. They were certainly notable for being one of the bands that parents loved to hate. I believe they were also recipients of Tipper Gore's ire. While I've never followed the actual music, I have been interested in frontman Blackie Lawless' spiritual evolution over the years. Come to find out the man is now a full-fledged Christian. Well... bless be. I bought this album because I was curious what someone who wrote songs like "F**k Like a Beast" and "Don't Cry, Just Suck" would be doing as a Christian. I also noticed that it was on a lot of metal fans' "best of" lists for the year. I'm not sure how it would measure up to their "glory days" but Golgotha is a rock solid album full of good hooks. As I expected, the lyrics are a lot more mature and spiritual as well. Of note is the ballad, "Miss You," about grieving the death of a loved one. The emotion really comes through here and makes the song just that more compelling. I'm definitely glad I picked this one up!

Useless Fact: The only thing I really know is that back in the day, Blackie used to wear a codpiece with a buzzsaw blade protruding from it. Because he was really into subtle innuendo back then.

1 comment:

  1. This is a great album. The one before it (Babylon) is pretty good too.