Friday, December 14, 2012

Trans-Siberian Orchestra - "The Christmas Attic"

Trans-Siberian Orchestra - The Christmas Attic
1998, Lava

1. The Ghosts of Christmas Eve
2. Boughs of Holly
3. The World That She Sees
4. The World That He Sees
5. Midnight Christmas Eve
6. The March of the Kings/Hark the Herald Angel Sing
7. The Three Kings and I (What Really Happened)
8. Christmas Cannon
9. Joy of Man's Desire/Angels We Have Heard On High
10. Find Our Way Home
11. Appalachian Snowfall
12. The Music Box
13. The Snow Came Down
14. Christmas In the Air
15. Dream Child
16. An Angel's Share
17. Music Box Blues

I quite enjoyed Christmas Eve and Other Stories so I picked this one up the other day because it was five bucks. "Christmas Cannon" gets played on the radio a lot. Apparently, people rush out and buy this CD thinking the whole thing is like that song and are rather disappointed when it turns out to be a rock opera. Since I knew what to expect I had no such trouble. It's a good touching album with only one single problem. One of the vocalists is awful. He sings on the first couple songs. His voice is loud and deep and doesn't seem to mix with the music. It sounds like he's just yelling half the time. I'm almost embarrassed to play those songs for other people. Aside than that, this is a solid Christmas album with some pretty poignant and beautiful songs. The story involves the angel from the last album and his new mission. I don't know what the faith is of the band, but their lyrics are more Christian than some Christian bands I've heard.

Useless Fact: I had a friend who saw Trans-Siberian Orchestra in concert. He took the "orchestra" part of the name a bit too seriously. He was shocked and appalled when he got a loud, bombastic rock concert.

No comments:

Post a Comment