Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Under Midnight - "Under Midnight"

Under Midnight - Under Midnight
1992, Wonderland

1. Babylon USA
2. Die To Myself
3. Love, Pain, Truth, Fire
4. New Way
5. Cyber Vision
6. Learning To Fly
7. Two World, One Cry
8. In A Mirror Dimly
9. Who Am I?
10. Fear and Trembling
11. Yes I Am
12. Arise

Man, oh man, a LOT of industrial music came out in the Christian scene around 1992 after Mortal hit. Under Midnight are not nearly as heavy as Circle of Dust and they're not as "dance" oriented as Mortal - they wander strictly in "industrial" territory. When I say "industrial" I mean just that... like this music was recorded in a robot factory. But don't get the idea that it's all just clanking metal and electronic gurgles. There are some beautiful melodic moments as well and the addition of female vocalist Beki Hemingway gives the album some variety from the usual distorted vocals that tend to characterize this type of music. They're also different in that their album is a concept album about a sinister corporation using mind control.

Useless Fact: This band features Bruce Franklin who used to play with the band Trouble.

1 comment:

  1. It's really a shame that Under Midnight only made two albums. I thought they exhibited alot of creativity. They're one of only a few Industrial bands I like.