Thursday, January 21, 2010

Weezer - "Weezer (Blue)"

Weezer - Weezer (Blue)
1994, Geffin

1. My Name is Jonas
2. No One Else
3. The World Has Turned and Left Me Here
4. Buddy Holly
5. Undone - The Sweater Song
6. Surf Wax America
7. Say It Ain't So
8. In the Garage
9. Holiday
10. Only in Dreams

Weezer's debut is a bonna fide classic. It's a fun side to alt-rock that stood in stark contrast to the sad-sack ramblings of Nirvana. The songs are simple and memorable with just enough of that dork charm to appeal to everyone. Probably the best feature is the thick distortion on the guitars which are almost shoegazer-esque in their viscosity. Pure brilliance.

Useless Fact: For the few who don't know the video for "Buddy Holly" features some of the cast from Happy Days. Probably one of the more creative vidoes to come out at the time.

No comments:

Post a Comment