Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Uthanda - "Groove"

Uthanda - Groove
1991, Broken

1. Be My Friend
2. Sweet Soul Salvation
3. Found Out the Hard Way
4. Change in My World
5. Look Away
6. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
7. To Be Loved
8. You Groove
9. Mercy
10. The Way That You Are
11. Red September

Uthanda had sort of a hippie band name and sort of a hippie image but they're weren't hippie music at all. My cousin and I ate it up though because at the time because we called our church youth group "The Hippy Youth Group" after some other kids in our district made fun of us. Though from the band name and image, you might expect something quirky and eclectic like Hot Pink Turtle or DigHayZoose but it's not. It's pretty standard rock. It's not even really alt-rock, just regular rock... with a little groove to it as the album title implies. That's not to say it's bad at all... I really dig this disc. If I could think of a comparison I would probably say they sound a little like Collective Soul. Not a world-shaking disc by any stretch of the imagination but I never get bored with it when I spin it.

Useless Fact: Drummer Chuck Cummings went on to play with Dakoda Motor Co. Also, "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" is a cover of The Animals.

1 comment:

  1. If you like this one, you should really hear the second album "Believe."