Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Under Midnight - "Void"

Under Midnight - Void
1994, Wonderland

1. Lie To Me
2. Welcome to Dystopia
3. Dream Baby
4. Artificial Light
5. Void
6. Gigo
7. Guilty
8. Oh Boy
9. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?
10. Phreak
11. Way Up Here

Under Midnight's second album is in much the same vein as their previous one. Though Beki Hemingway, sadly, only has one or two parts in this one. The concept is a bit looser here as well being about a genetically engineered man who wonders whether he has a soul. It also touches virtual reality a little. Kind of a moot point since there isn't any real "virtual reality" like so many people thought there would be and doesn't seem to be any soon. There are some really awesome tracks on this one. In fact, the whole first half is just amazing. The second half is decent but since there are quite a few instrumentals it's not quite as strong for me. Though I still think Under Midnight is my favorite industrial band.

Useless Fact: Under Midnight called it quits after this album. That's too bad. I would have liked to have seen more from them.

1 comment:

  1. Although I'm not as familiar with Void as I am UM's debut, it seems darker and more aggressive to me - and maybe a bit more intense, or urgent - none of which is meant negatively. I really like both UM releases. There is a sense of melody displayed that never compromises the integrity of the elements that keep this firmly in the Industrial genre.